Zwartplaag - Haatstorm


Heidens Hart Records

Review by Sleepwalker of Forbidden Magazine

Razor-sharp guitars, blasphemous blasts and vile vocals await listeners on ‘Haatstorm’, debut full length from Dutch demons Zwartplaag. Building upon a string of demos that began in 2005, ‘Haatstorm’ delivers a hungry horde of wolves to the sheep, and with furious drums and all-encompassing guitar ambiance, the fold is quickly devoured. Although this release was recorded at the same studio as the aforementioned Ancestor’s Blood, it contains little of the same sheen and shine but plenty of the grandiose atmosphere, attitude and aggression. The instruments are, for the most part, audible and well-balanced, leaving the album’s most ‘raw’ quality to be the song arrangements. Most of the time, ‘Haatstorm’ wields a mighty melody but at times, we hear it progress too long or even appear on other tracks in similiar form. ‘Forgotten Tower of Moon’, ‘Countess of Blood’ and ‘Last Stronghold of Eternal Hate’ all fall victim to this trap and, although it does not turn the release to complete shit by any means, it does leave a little to be desired. At the end of the day, the bottom line is that ‘Haatstorm’ is violent, ugly and disrespectful to those who deserve no respect, the way black metal was intended!

1. Intro 01:42
2. Forgotten Tower of the Moon 06:40
3. Countess of Blood 06:55
4. Nachtkwaad 07:15
5. Last Stronghold of Eternal Hate 07:30
6. Imperial Death March 06:30
7. Winds of Desecration and Lust 06:00
8. Den Plaag Geleden 07:51
9. Haatstorm 06:30
10. Outro 02:35
TOTAL 59:28

Add to Cart:

  • Model: FRD102
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35lbs
  • 2 Units in Stock

This product was added to our catalog on Wednesday 29 February, 2012.

Copyright © 2017 Forbidden Records. Powered by Zen Cart